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Public Comment Process and Proposed Timeline 

In February 2012, the Atlantic Striped Bass Management Board approved a motion to initiate the 
development of an addendum to the Interstate Fishery Management Plan (FMP) for Atlantic 
Striped Bass to address illegal harvest of striped bass. This draft addendum presents background 
on the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s (ASMFC) management of striped bass, 
the addendum process and timeline. Also provided are a statement of the problem and options of 
striped bass management for public consideration and comment. 

The public is encouraged to submit comments regarding this document at any time during the 
addendum process. The final date comments will be accepted until 5:00 PM (EST) on July 13, 
2012.  Comments may be submitted by mail, email, or fax. If you have any questions or would 
like to submit comment, please use the contact information below. 

Mail: Kate Taylor      Email:  ktaylor@asmfc.org 
 Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Phone: (703) 842-0740  
 1050 North Highland Street Suite 200A-N  Fax: (703) 842-0741 
 Arlington, VA 22201           
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1.0 Introduction 

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) has coordinated interstate 
management of Atlantic striped bass (Morone saxatilis) from 0-3 miles offshore since 1981. The 
management unit includes all coastal migratory stocks between Maine and North Carolina. 
Atlantic striped bass is currently managed under Amendment 6 to the Fishery Management Plan 
(FMP), approved February 2003, Addendum I to Amendment 6, approved October 2007, and 
Addendum II to Amendment 6, approved in November 2010. Management authority from 3-200 
miles from shore rests with NOAA Fisheries.  

At the February 2012 ASMFC Striped Bass Management Board Meeting in Alexandria, VA, the 
Board passed a motion initiating the development of an addendum to incorporate 
recommendations by the Interstate Watershed Task Force (IWTF) and ASMFC Law 
Enforcement Committee (LEC) on reducing illegal harvest of striped bass. Provisions of the 
addendum, if approved, will be implemented prior to the start of the 2013 fishing year.  

2.0 Management Program 

2.1 Statement of the Problem 
 
The illegal harvest of striped bass has the potential to undermine the sustainability of striped bass 
populations on the Atlantic Coast, as well as reduce the economic opportunities of commercial 
fishermen who are legally participating in the fishery. This addendum was initiated in response 
to the IWTF’s multi-year, multi-jurisdictional investigation conducted within Chesapeake Bay. 
This investigation resulted in over $1.6 million dollars in fines levied against 19 individuals and 
3 corporations for more than one million pounds of illegal striped bass harvested estimated to be 
worth up to seven million dollars. The investigation revealed that some of the control measures 
in place for regulating the harvest of striped bass were ineffective or inadequately designed to 
maximize compliance. The investigation also found that greater accountability of wholesalers 
would be difficult to achieve without uniform tags (colors, design) and tagging requirements, 
valid year and size limits inscribed on tags, and increased dealer compliance education. The 
Board is also concerned about the potential for illegal harvest occurring within other jurisdictions 
along the Atlantic Coast.  
 
2.2  Management Background 

 
Striped bass, Morone saxatilis, have formed the basis of one of the most important fisheries on 
the Atlantic coast for centuries. However, overfishing and poor environmental conditions led to 
the collapse of the fishery in the 1980s and a moratorium on harvest from 1985 – 1990. The 
fishery was reopened in 1990 under Amendment 4 to the Striped Bass Fisheries Management 
Plan (FMP), with regulations designed to limit harvest to 20% of the average landings during a 
1972-1979 reference period. In 1995, when the fishery was declared restored, Amendment 5 to 
the Striped Bass FMP put in place regulations to allow harvest up to 70% of the average landings 
during the reference period.  
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Amendment 6, approved in 2003, increased the coastal1 commercial quotas to allow 100% of the 
landings during the reference period (Table 1). Along with the minimum size limit of 28”, states 
implement additional regulations to limit harvest to the commercial quotas. Any state quota 
overage is paid back through modified management measures to reduce the quota in that state the 
following year. Amendment 6 places no quota on the states’ recreational coastal harvest; rather 
recreational management measures include generally the same minimum size limits as in the 
commercial fishery, and a two fish creel limit. Amendment 6 allows states to propose alternative 
and/or conservationally equivalent regulations to the Amendment 6 standards, resulting in 
regulatory inconsistency along the coast (See Appendix 1). 

Table 1. Amendment 6 coastal commercial harvest allocations as modified by commercial 
prohibitions and management equivalencies. 

State 
Am6 Harvest Allocation 

(lbs) 
Maine 250* 
New Hampshire 5,750* 
Massachusetts 1,159,750 
Rhode Island 243,625† 
Connecticut 23,750* 
New York 1,061,060† 
New Jersey 321,750** 
Delaware 193,447 
Maryland 131,560† 
Virginia 184,853 
North Carolina 480,480 
Total 3,806,275 

* Commercial harvest/sale prohibited, with no re-allocation of quota. 
** Commercial harvest/sale prohibited, with re-allocation of quota to the recreational fishery. 
† Quota reduced through management program equivalency; NY (828,293 pounds) and MD (126,396 
pounds) beginning in 2004, RI (93,788 pounds) beginning in 2007.  
 
Within the Chesapeake Bay and Albemarle-Roanoke areas there is a lower minimum size limit 
(18”) than required for the coastal areas (28”) due to the size availability of fish during most of 
the year and separate quotas are established separately for these two areas. For the Chesapeake 
Bay, there is a single Baywide quota for all jurisdictions’ (Maryland, Virginia, PRFC) 
commercial and recreational fisheries, combined.  Quota in the Chesapeake Bay is currently 
allocated based on historical harvest, and each jurisdiction then allocates portions of the quota to 
its recreational and commercial fisheries (Table 3). In the Albemarle Sound and Roanoke River 
System, the annual quota of 550,000 pounds is currently allocated evenly between the 
recreational and commercial fisheries, with 25% for the Roanoke River recreational fishery, 25% 
for the Albemarle Sound recreational fishery, and 50% for the Albemarle Sound commercial 
fishery (Table 4). 

                                                 
1   The coastal stock can be defined as the entire management unit (i.e., all coastal and estuarine areas of all states 
and jurisdictions from Maine through North Carolina) minus the Chesapeake and Albemarle Sound / Roanoke River 
management areas. 
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The exclusive economic zone (EEZ) has been closed to the harvest and possession of striped 
bass since 1990, with the exception of a defined route to and from Block Island in Rhode Island. 
A recommendation was made in Amendment 6 to re-open federal waters to commercial and 
recreational fisheries. However, NOAA Fisheries concluded opening the EEZ to striped bass 
fishing was not warranted at that time. 

2.2.1 Commercial Fishery Status 

Total and state-specific commercial harvests of striped bass have varied little from year to year, 
since the implementation of Amendment 6, due to quota management. Refer to Appendix 1 for 
jurisdiction specific regulations. The total coastal commercial harvests from 2003 to 2010 range 
between 2.82 and 3.15 million pounds (Table 2) and average 2.95 million pounds (Figure 1). 
Massachusetts and New York land on average 60% of the total coastal allocation.  

The total non-coastal commercial harvests from 2003 to 2010 ranged between 4.14 and 4.52 
million pounds and averaged 4.38 million pounds annually. Within that time period, the 
Chesapeake Bay commercial fishery has landed 3.95 – 4.4 million pounds annually (Table 3), 
with Maryland landing, on average, 50% of the harvest, followed by Virginia (35%) and PRFC 
(15%).  The total Baywide quota has not been exceeded. Within Albemarle Sound Management 
Area, commercial landings have averaged 68% of the total management area commercial quota 
(Table 4).  

In total, the commercial fishery landed an estimated 7.29 million pounds in 2010, which is lower 
than landings in 2009 (7.32 million pounds) and also slightly lower than the 2003-2010 average 
of 7.3 million pounds. 

2.2.2 Recreational Fishery Status  

Since 2003 total coastal recreational harvest has ranged between 23.2 million pounds in 2006 to 
15.7 million pounds in 2009 (Figure 1) and averaged 19.6 million pounds annually. While 
harvest in 2010 increased by 17%, it was still below the average. Landings from Massachusetts, 
New York and New Jersey have comprised approximately 70% of annual recreational landings 
since 2003 (24%, 24%, and 22% respectively). The number of fish released alive increased 
annually after the passage of Amendment 6 to a high of 19.5 million fish in 2006. Since then, the 
number of fish released alive has decreased by 75% to a low of 4.8 million fish in 2010. Reasons 
for the decline may be attributed to a decreased availability of fish staying in nearshore areas, a 
reduction in stock size from the peak in 2004, and changes in angler behavior in response to 
socioeconomic factors.  

Recreational harvest in the Chesapeake Bay has fluctuated by more than a million pounds nearly 
annually since 2003. The largest harvest occurred in 2009, at more than 5.67 million pounds, 
followed by a decrease of 50% to a low of 2.8 million pounds in 2010. The number of fish 
released alive has decreased 70% from a high of 5.5 million fish in 2003 to approximately 1.5 
million fish in 2009 and 2010. The Albemarle Sound / Roanoke River recreational quota is set at 
275,000 pounds and is divided between the two areas equally (Table 3). The average harvest 
from the combined areas (135,339 pounds) has been less than half the allowable quota since 
2003 (Table 3). 
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Table 2. Total coastal commercial harvest (in pounds) of striped bass by state, 2003-2010. 

Year  MA   RI   NY   NJ*   DE   MD+   VA+   NC**  
Total Harvest 
*** 

2003 1,055,439 246,312 753,261 121,410 188,419 98,149 159,786 434,369 3,057,145 

2004 1,206,305 245,204 741,668 81,870 181,974 115,453 160,301 421,645 3,154,420 

2005 1,104,737 242,303 689,821 29,866 173,815 46,871 184,734 454,521 2,926,668 

2006 1,312,168 238,797 688,446 23,656 185,987 91,093 194,934 352,036 3,087,117 

2007 1,040,328 240,627 729,743 13,615 188,668 96,301 165,587 424,723 2,899,592 

2008 1,160,122 245,988 653,100 7,345 188,719 118,005 164,400 299,162 2,836,841 

2009 1,138,291 234,368 789,891 10,330 192,311 127,327 140,420 189,995 2,822,933 
2010 1,224,356 249,520 782,402 12,833 185,410 44,802 116,338 272,632 2,892,096 

* NJ values reflect striped bass harvested recreationally via the Bonus Fish Program 
** NC values represent harvest during the December 1-November 30 fishing year 
***Total harvest counted toward quota. NJ’s quota is not counted toward the coastal quota. 
+MD, VA and NC harvest from ocean only. Does not include Chesapeake Bay or Albemarle Sound/ 
Roanoke River.  

Table 3. Total (commercial and recreational) Chesapeake Bay quotas and harvests, in pounds 
(2003-2010). 

Year Quota Harvest 
2003 10,500,000 8,726,383 
2004 8,417,000 7,766,412 
2005 9,285,588 8,646,183 
2006 9,590,238 8,496,213 
2007 9,590,238 8,432,214 
2008 10,132,844 7,641,785 
2009 10,132,844 8,467,818 
2010 9,489,794 7,956,566 

 
Table 4. Albemarle Sound / Roanoke River annual quota* and harvest (2003 – 2010), in pounds.  

Commercial Recreational 
Quota Harvest Quota Harvest

2003 275,000 266,555 275,000 90,964 
2004 275,000 273,636 275,000 187,288
2005 275,000 232,693 275,000 171,007
2006 275,000 186,399 275,000 120,518
2007 275,000 171,683 275,000 89,125 
2008 275,000 74,921 275,000 64,353 
2009 275,000 96,134 275,000 106,894
2010 275,000 199,829 275,000 83,507 

 

* Quota is allocated 25% for the Roanoke River recreational fishery, 25% for the Albemarle Sound 
recreational fishery, and 50% for the Albemarle Sound commercial fishery 
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Figure 1. Annual migratory striped bass landings (in pounds) from coastal and Chesapeake Bay 
fisheries, 1950 – 2011. Source: pers. communication with NMFS Fisheries Statistics Division, 
Silver Spring, MD 
 
2.2.3 Stock Status 

Based on the results of the 2011 stock assessment update, Atlantic coast striped bass are not 
overfished and overfishing is not occurring. The statistical catch at age (SCA) model estimates 
female spawning stock biomass (SSB) at 50,548 metric tons (mt), above the SSB target and 
threshold levels of 37,500 and 30,000 mt, respectively (Figure 2). Estimates of recruitment (age-
1 abundance) in 2010 increased from 2009 and were slightly higher than the recent (2005-2010) 
average. However the estimate was still below the post recovery time period average (1995-
2010). While biomass estimates have remained relatively stable due to the growth and 
maturation of the 2003 year class and the accumulation of spawning biomass from year classes 
prior to 1996, stock abundance has declined from the time-series high in 2004 of 67.5 million 
fish to 42.3 million fish in 2010. The decline, as reflected by landings, is more prevalent in areas 
largely dependent on the Chesapeake Bay stock than in areas dominated by the Hudson River 
stock. A benchmark stock assessment for striped bass is scheduled for 2013.  

2.2.4 Juvenile Recruitment  
 
The Striped Bass Technical Committee annually examines the juvenile abundance indices (JAIs) 
for recruitment failure. Under Addendum II to Amendment 6, recruitment failure is defined as a 
value that is below 75% of all values in a fixed time series appropriate to each juvenile 
abundance index (as designated by the Q1 line in Figure 6). If any JAI shows recruitment failure 
for three consecutive years, the Technical Committee recommends appropriate action to the 
Striped Bass Management Board. 
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For the 2011 review of the JAIs, the trigger analysis was performed with the 2008, 2009, and 
2010 index values. Single years of recruitment failure occurred in Maryland (2008), North 
Carolina (2009) and Maine (2010); however, three consecutive years of recruitment failure did 
not occur in any of the surveyed areas, so no action was triggered. 
 

Figure 2. Estimated female spawning stock biomass (SSB, in metric tons) of striped bass. 
Source: ASMFC 2011 Striped Bass Stock Assessment Update. 

 
2.2.5 Illegal Striped Bass Harvest 

 
There are currently no reliable estimates of coastwide illegal harvest available, for either 
commercial or recreational fisheries, but data is available from specific law enforcement cases 
conducted by states and also among regions. The Interstate Watershed Task Force (IWTF) began 
investigations on illegal commercial harvest focused on the western shore of the Chesapeake Bay 
and the Potomac River in 2003.  Their investigation indicated that numerous incidents of illegal 
striped bass commercial violations on the Potomac River were occurring.  Fishermen from 
Virginia were targeting very large spawning fish in closed waters of the Potomac River Fisheries 
Commission and Maryland and oversized fish were being taken during the spawning season and 
sold illegally. Additionally fishermen in Maryland were taking advantage of loopholes in the 
state tagging system to falsely report large numbers of smaller fish, and obtain more tags to 
exceed quota limits. 
 
Wholesale dealers were also complicit through false recordkeeping, false check-in, and 
knowingly buying illegal or untagged fish.  Specific illegal activities included: taking fish during 
closed commercial season and tagging with open season tags; taking oversized striped bass; 
overharvest of quota; disguise of true gear used for harvest; re-use of commercial tags; use of 
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expired tags; illegal use of other fishermen’s commercial tags; sale of commercial striped bass 
tags; unmarked, oversized gill nets targeting breeding stock; and untagged fish being sold. 
 
At the conclusion of the IWTF’s investigation it was determined that over 1 million pounds of 
illegal striped bass were taken. The investigation resulted in conviction of 19 individuals and 
three corporations for a total of 140 months of cumulative prison time and 41 months of 
cumulative home detention, as well as $1,628,352 in fines and restitution. The investigation 
revealed that some of the control measures in place for regulating the harvest of striped bass 
were ineffective or inadequately designed to maximize compliance.  The investigation has also 
shown that greater accountability of wholesalers would be difficult to achieve without uniform 
tags (colors, design) and tagging requirements, valid year and size limits inscribed on tags, and 
increased dealer compliance education.  
 
The IWTF and LEC made the following recommendations based on the investigation:  

1. Implement a uniform commercial tagging system among all states and jurisdictions 
where striped bass are harvested and landed for sale. 

a. Uniformity by year, style, color and inscriptions.  
b. Make tags valid for one year only. 
c. Inscriptions should include year, state, state size limits, and unique number. 
d. Use standardized, tamper-proof tags. 

2. Require all fish harvested for sale to be tagged immediately upon possession. 
3. Issue a set number of tags based on a sound scientific sample of the average (mean) 

weight of legal-sized fish harvested in open season for that gear type divided into the 
weight quota. 

4. Require all unused tags to be returned on an annual or seasonal basis and prohibit license 
renewal if unused tags are not returned. 

5. Implement license revocation or suspension as a primary penalty for state or federal 
violations.  

6. Ensure that law enforcement officers have real-time access to tag numbers issued to each 
fisherman. 

 
The State of Maryland has already enacted regulation changes to address some of the issues 
uncovered by the investigation, including inscription of year of validity on tags, a limited number 
of tags are issued to each pound net licensee, unused tags for all gear types must be returned 
annually and commercial license suspension or permanent revocation of repeat or egregious 
violators.  Additionally, the Potomac River Fish Commission has prohibited some subjects from 
commercially fishing again in their jurisdiction and the State of Virginia suspended the 
commercial licenses of some subjects for two years. 
 
2.2.6 Commercial Striped Bass Tagging Programs 

 
Commercial striped bass fisheries occur in Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York, Delaware, 
Maryland, the Potomac River Fisheries Commission, Virginia, and North Carolina. While not 
required under Amendment 6, commercial striped bass tagging programs exist in most states 
with a commercial fishery.  These programs vary in many aspects, including the type of tags 
used, the level of monitoring occurring in the fishery, and the method of tag distribution. The 
following sections describe the commercial striped bass tagging programs, if any, occurring 
within Commission jurisdictions.  
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Massachusetts  
 
For commercially harvested striped bass that will remain within the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts, commercial tagging is not required of harvesters or dealers. Licensed dealers are 
required to buy tags ($0.16 apiece) if they are: 1) selling the fish out of state and 2) that state or 
jurisdiction requires striped bass harvested from its waters to possess a commercial tag. It is the 
dealer’s responsibility to determine if the state or jurisdiction they are shipping to requires a tag. 
The state provides the order forms to the dealers and the dealers purchase tags from the tag 
maker directly. Tags are imprinted with the year and state of origin.  
 
Dealer reporting requirement included weekly reporting to the Massachusetts Division of Marine 
Fisheries or SAFIS system of all striped bass purchases. In 2010 there were 178 permitted 
dealers authorized to purchase striped bass from fishermen.  
 
Commercial fishermen may apply for a commercial striped bass license at anytime during the 
year, regardless if the commercial season is open or closed. The commercial striped bass season 
opens on July 12th (or the next open fishing day) and closes when the quota (1,140,807 pounds) 
is reached. Commercial fishermen may not possess striped bass less than 34" in total length and 
may take striped bass by rod-and-reel or handline only. Additionally commercial striped bass 
fishermen may not possess or land more than 30 striped bass per day on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, 
and Thursdays and 5 striped bass per day on Sundays during the open season. All striped bass 
which are the subject of a first sale shall be in the round, with the head, body and tail fully intact.  
 
Commercial fishermen are required to accurately report their catch at the trip-level, including the 
location, dealer sold to, and quantity of all striped bass harvested during the open season and 
their monthly trip-level reports shall be filed no later than the 15th of the following month. 
Failure to complete and submit accurate and timely trip-level reports or falsification of any such 
report may result in a non-renewal of the striped bass endorsement. In 2010 there were 3,951 
permitted striped bass commercial fishermen.  
 

 
Figure 3. Example of commercial striped bass dealer tags for Massachusetts. Dealers are 
required to attach a tag to any striped bass shipped to a state that with tagging requirements. 
 



 

10 
 

Illegal possession of striped bass may result in: (a) revocation of the special permit, wholesale 
dealer permit, retail dealer permit, or authorization to purchase striped bass; (b) confiscation of 
all striped bass caught, possessed or sold in violation; (c) seizure and forfeiture of all property 
used in violation; (d) a fine not less than $ 100 nor more than $ 1,000; or (e) a combination of (a) 
through (d). 
 
Any imported striped bass must be marked with a numbered tag that identifies the state of origin 
and must be accompanied by documents that verify state of origin. Nonconforming (undersized) 
striped bass may be imported into the Commonwealth only during the period corresponding to 
the Massachusetts closed commercial season, and those fish must have been legally taken, 
shipped and meet documentation requirements. 
 
Rhode Island  
 
In Rhode Island, the commercial tagging program occurs at the point of sale (i.e. striped bass are 
tagged when the fish is transferred from a licensed fisher to a licensed dealer.) No striped bass 
may be sold unless it has been properly identified with a special tag provided by the Rhode 
Island Division of Fish and Wildlife (RIDFW). RIDFW may designate tagging agents as 
appropriate. All designated tagging agents shall keep and maintain the required forms and logs 
specified by the Division of Fish and Wildlife. Tags are distributed to dealers by RIDFW. There 
are approximately 30 dealers. Dealers may pick up tags (200 at a time) for no charge at RIDFW 
office.  Dealers may request additional tags so long as previously distributed tags have been 
accounted for. It costs approximately $2,000 annually for the state to produce the tags. 
 
Regulations for the commercial striped bass fishery in Rhode Island include minimum sizes, 
possession limits, gear restrictions, seasons and quotas. The commercial quota, as determined by 
ASMFC, is divided between two sectors, floating traps (39%) and general category (61%). The 
quota for the general category, primarily rod and reel, is made available during two seasons 
(June 6th – August 31st: 75% and September 11th – December 31st: 25%). The entire floating trap 
fishery quota is available from January 1st through December 31st. When the RIDFW has 
determined that the annual floating fish trap quota has been reached, the floating fish trap harvest 
of striped bass will terminate.  Floating fish trap operators are required to report landings of 
striped bass to SAFIS three times per week.  If there is non-compliance with the reporting 
requirements, the possession limit for floating fish trap operators for striped bass will be 
unlimited until eighty percent of the floating fish trap allocation has been projected to be 
harvested. Once eighty percent has been harvested, there will be a possession limit of 500 
pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar day.   
 
To harvest striped bass within Rhode Island waters, a fisherman needs one of the following: a 
Multi-Purpose License, a Principal Effort License with a restricted finfish endorsement, a 
Resident Multi-Purpose Landing Permit or a Non-Resident Restricted Finfish Landing Permit. 
Additionally, floating trap fishermen need a gear endorsement to participate in the fishery. To be 
considered for a Principal Effort License, an application must be submitted by February 28th of 
the fishing year. New licenses are not made available unless a current license is retired. Anyone 
holding a license may renew the license the following year. A limited number of new Principal 
Effort Licenses with Restricted Finfish endorsements were available in 2012. 
 



 

11 
 

 
Figure 4. 2012 commercial striped bass tags for Rhode Island. Tags are 8.25 inches in length. 
Black tag (left) is valid for harvest with a “Fish Trap” permit. Yellow tag (right) is valid for 
harvest under a “General Category” permit. Tag colors change annually.  
 
Floating trap landings are reported three times a week. General category fishermen have no 
reporting requirements; however dealers purchasing general category striped bass are required to 
report through SAFIS twice a week. The license or permit of any individual who fails to report 
required information in a timely fashion or who files a false report shall be subject to suspension 
or revocation. No application for a license renewal will be accepted from a person who has failed 
to submit reports in a timely fashion. 
 
Any person, firm, or corporation shall be fined not more than fifty dollars ($50) for each striped 
bass taken, possessed, sold, possessed for sale, or offered for sale in violation of the regulations. 
In addition to the fine, the fish trap license of the person, firm, or corporation in violation shall 
be suspended for a period of one year.  
 
New York 
 
In order to participate in the commercial striped bass fishery, fishermen must possess both a 
striped bass commercial harvester permit and a food fish license. There are two types of striped 
bass commercial harvest tag allocations: a full quota share and a partial quota share. The striped 
bass commercial harvester  permits are issued at no cost to persons who: 1) currently possess a 
valid New York State commercial food fish license; 2) who previously held a New York State 
license to sell striped bass during 1984, 1985, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, or 1995; and 3) 
who can demonstrate, for a full share, that 50 percent or more of their earned income resulted 
from direct participation in the harvest of marine species in any one year during the period 1994 
through 2004. Participants who meet all three criteria are issued a full share quota tag allocation. 
Participants with a partial share quota tag allocation do not meet the income requirement above, 
but may apply for a full share by meeting the income requirement during the preceding year in 
which the permit is issued. Applications for striped bass commercial harvesters permits will be 
accepted until close of business June 1st. At this time no new striped bass permits are being 
issued by the state. Dealers must obtain a Food Fish and Crustaceans Dealers and Shippers 
license and must submit weekly reports of all Marine food fish purchases. 
 
The department will issue serialized tags to permitted fishers. Individual tag allocations for all 
permit holders are achieved by first dividing New York's commercial striped bass quota by all 



 

12 
 

eligible permit holders. A partial share permit holder receives 20 percent of this individual 
allocation. The full share individual quota is derived by subtracting the partial share quota from 
the total and dividing by the number of full share permit holders to achieve the individual full 
share allocation. Each permit holder will be provided a number of tags equal to their individual 
quota. The permit holder is required to pay $0.25 per tag for all tags issued to them, paid in full 
prior to receiving the tag allocation for the current year. It is unlawful to reuse or alter any 
striped bass tag. A striped bass commercial permit holder who takes and possesses a striped bass 
of legal commercial slot size shall immediately attach and securely lock into place through the 
mouth and gill a numbered strap tag issued by the Department immediately after removing said 
striped bass from their gear and prior to attending another piece of gear. All striped bass not of 
legal commercial slot size shall be returned to the water immediately without unnecessary injury.  
 
Fishing Vessel Trip Reports are completed, signed, and submitted to the department each month; 
if no fishing trips were made for striped bass during a month, a report must be submitted for that 
month stating no striped bass trips were made. Any permit holder that has lost tags must report 
such loss to the department on their reports. Permit holders must submit all required information, 
including, but not limited to, the name of the vessel, the permit number(s), trip type, all species 
taken, the striped bass tag serial numbers used for the trip, the weight (in pounds), and number of 
striped bass taken, the name and signature of the permit holder, and the date signed. Once 
commercial striped bass permit holders have reported 100 percent use of the individual 
allocation of tags, they are no longer required to submit reports for striped bass. Permit holders 
who fail to submit acceptable fishing Vessel Trip Reports to the department may be denied 
future commercial striped bass fishing permits. All striped bass commercial permit holders must 
return any unused tags to the department by December 20 of the year the tags were issued. 
Permit holders who fail to return unused tags may be denied future commercial striped bass 
fishing permits. Permit holders who fail to accurately account for all tags may receive a 
reduction in the number of tags allocated in the next fishing season in which the permit holder 
applies for a striped bass commercial permit. This reduction in tags will be equal to the number 
of tags not accounted for in the previous fishing season. 
 

 
Figure 5. 2008 striped bass tag for New York. Tags are 8.5 inches in length. The metal tags are 
imprinted with a seven digit code which designates the year (first two digits) and the serial 
number (last five digits). Tag colors do not change annually. 
 
It is unlawful to sell or offer for sale untagged striped bass or striped bass fillets or steaks unless 
the tagged carcass from which such fillets or steaks were removed is present and available for 
inspection.  Possession of untagged striped bass or striped bass fillets or steaks without the 
properly tagged carcass in establishments where fish are sold or offered for sale (including 
wholesale establishments, retail establishments and restaurants) is presumptive evidence of intent 
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to sell, trade, or barter such striped bass. Retail markets may prepare portions of legally tagged 
striped bass for the consumer and must retain the tagged carcass until all portions are sold. The 
tag must then be removed from the rack and then destroyed by cutting the tag in two. 
  
Delaware 
 
In Delaware, all commercial fishermen and dealers must be licensed to harvest or purchase 
striped bass. Commercially harvested striped bass may be taken with the following gears: gill 
nets or hook and line. The spring striped bass gill net fishery occurs from February to May, the 
winter striped bass gill net fishery occurs in November and December and the striped bass hook 
and line fishery occurs from April to December. All three are considered separate fisheries. All 
commercial striped bass gill net fishermen must have a valid gill net fishing permit and are 
required to register in writing with the Delaware Department of Fish and Wildlife (DDFW) by 
February 1st for the February gill net fishery and by November 1st for the November gill net 
fishery. In order for a commercial fisherman to be authorized to participate in the commercial 
hook and line fishery, the fisherman must register in writing with DNR by March 15th of the 
fishing year.  
 
Each fishery receives a portion of Delaware’s total striped bass commercial quota2. Each 
fisherman in the gill net fishery is assigned an equal share of the total pounds of striped bass 
allotted by the DDFW to that fishery. A share is determined by dividing the number of pre-
registered participants in that fishery into the total pounds of striped bass allotted to that fishery 
by DDFW. It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman to land, during a striped bass 
fishing season, more than the total pounds assigned to the fisherman. The hook and line fishery 
occurs derby style until the quota is filled. Any overage of Delaware’s commercial quota will be 
subtracted from the next year's commercial quota proportionally to the appropriate fishery.  
 
DDFW issues tags, at no cost, to each registered and licensed commercial fisherman. Tags cost 
$0.13 each to produce. For the gill net fishery, each fisherman is initially issued a quantity of 
tags determined by dividing the number of fishermen assigned a share in pounds by the 
estimated weight of a striped bass expected to be landed. In 2012 each commercial gill net 
fishermen was issued 200 tags by DDFW. If a commercial fisherman needs additional tags to fill 
his or her quota, DDFW will issue additional tags after verifying the balance of the share 
remaining from reports submitted by an official weigh station. For the hook and line fishery, 
DNR initially issues 20 tags to each registered fishermen. Tags may not be transferred, unless the 
transfer is made prior to the tags being issued by DDFW. 
 
All striped bass harvested must immediately have a tag issued to the fisherman locked into place 
through the mouth and gill. A tag may not be applied if it had previously been applied to another 
striped bass. Additionally, all commercially harvested striped bass must be weighed and tagged 
with a second locking tag at an official weigh station. Tags are provided, at no cost, by DDFW. 
Tags cost $0.08 each to produce. Weigh stations receive tags based on the previous year’s 

                                                 
2 The total pounds of striped bass allotted to each fishery by DDFW is divided as follows: 95% of Delaware’s 
commercial quota, as determined by the ASMFC, for the February - May gill net fishery, 10% of Delaware’s 
commercial quota for the April - December hook and line fishery and, provided that in excess of two percent of the 
February - May gill net fishery allocation was not landed, the remainder is allocated for the November - December 
gill net fishery. 
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landings. The weigh stations maintained written logs of the date landed, number of fish, total 
daily weight, and also reported each fisherman’s daily catch through an Interactive Voice 
Reporting system. 
 
Each commercial fisherman participating in a striped bass fishery is required to file a harvest 
report to DDFW detailing all striped bass landed within 30 days after the end date of the fishery. 
All unused tags issued or legally transferred must be returned with the report. Failure to file an 
acceptable report or failure to return all unused tags may disqualify the commercial fishermen 
from future striped bass fisheries. 
 

 
Figure 6. Striped bass tags for Delaware. Delaware regulations require commercial fishermen 
to tag striped bass with their allocated commercial striped bass tags (left). Tags are inscribed 
with state, approved gear and a unique identification number. Commercially caught striped bass 
must also be weighed and tagged (right) at a weigh station.  The fishermen and weigh station tag 
colors change annually.  
 
 

Maryland 
 
Maryland’s commercial striped bass fishery is managed under a limited entry program with a 
maximum of 1,231 permits issued. The commercial striped bass fisheries occur in two areas: the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries, and the Atlantic Ocean, its coastal bays and their 
tributaries. Within the Chesapeake Bay, commercial fishermen may use either pound nets, haul 
seines, gill nets, or hook and line. When fishing in the Atlantic Ocean, commercial fishermen 
may use otter and beam trawl or gill nets. When registering for a striped bass allocation permit, 
fisherman must specify the area and gear the permit will apply to. Fishermen can hold permits 
declared into more than one fishery and also transfer allocation permits to other fishermen. 
Permits may be transferred on an annual basis or a permanent basis.  If a permit is transferred on 
an annual basis, the transaction must occur during a designated transfer period.  Permanent 
transfers may be completed at any time.  Fishermen may hold more than one permit in the gill 
net, pound net and Atlantic gear sectors, while hook and line fishermen are limited to one permit 
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allocation.  Certain restrictions apply. Each gear type, except gill net and hook and line, receives 
an annual quota and fishing occurs until the quota is used. The gill net and hook and line 
fisheries occur derby-style until the quota is reached. All commercial fishermen must be 
registered for a striped bass allocation permit to participate in a striped bass season with 
Maryland Department of Natural Resources (MDNR) by August 31st of each year.  
 
Prior to the start of a striped bass season, MDNR provides tamper-evident locking tags, free of 
charge, to each commercial fisherman based on the gear type. The cost to MDNR is $0.14/tag. 
MDNR will issue additional tags to participants in the gill net and hook and line fishery 
throughout the open season only if the harvest report submitted by the fisherman indicates that 
the quantity of tags issued is insufficient to complete the season. Participants in the pound net, 
haul seine, and Atlantic fisheries are issued a specific number of tags for the year based on the 
annual allocation.  The number tags issued is based on the median weight of commercial 
harvested striped bass sampled by MDNR Biologists.  The median is used because it is a more 
accurate representation of the fish harvested by most commercial fishermen when compared to 
the mean.  Tags cannot be transferred. MDNR may not provide replacement tags for tags that are 
lost. 
 

Area Gear 
Tag 

Color 
# Tags Issued * 

Individual 
Allocation 

Season 

Bay gill net Red 1,000 None 
Jan 1 - Feb 29; 
Dec 1 – Dec 31 

Bay pound net White 1,000 2,800 June 1 - Nov 30
Bay haul seine White 1,000 1,050 June 7 - Nov 30

Bay hook and line 
Dark 
Blue 

1,000 - active;  
500 - moderately 

active 
None June 7 - Nov 30

Atlantic trawl/gill net Gray 300 1,600 
Jan 1 – Apr 30; 
Nov 1 – Dec 31

Table 5.Commerical striped bass tagging information for Maryland. * Numbers issued to 
“active” fishermen. Fishermen that are not considered "active" will receive a form from MDNR 
each year they are registered, to request tags. The fishermen must submit this form to MDNR in 
order to receive tags. 
 

 
Figure 7. Maryland hook and line commercial striped bass fishery for 2011. Tags are inscribed 
with the year, gear code, state, fish code and a unique number.  
 
All tags shall be securely affixed through the mouth and one gill opening immediately upon 
harvest by hook and line, within 200 yards of the pound net from which the striped bass was 
harvested from or before removing a striped bass from a boat or removing a boat from the water 
for all other gears. Only striped bass tags issued by the Department may be on board a vessel 
while engaged in fishing for striped bass in the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries. An 
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allocation permit and striped bass tags for only one fishing-gear type may be on board a vessel at 
any one time. Current regulations require that any fillets be accompanied by a tag until sale to the 
final consumer.  
 
All commercially caught striped bass must be counted and weighed at an approved check station, 
where a record of the numbers and weight of fish, date checked, commercial fish license number, 
and striped bass allocation permit number will be recorded and must be submitted to MDNR by 
Tuesday of the following week. The check station also calls in the daily total of poundage 
checked each day.  Fishermen are required to file commercial fishing reports to the Department 
each month.  
 
Any unused tags and the striped bass harvest permit card must be returned to the Department 
within 14 days immediately following the end of the quota year. Failure to return the permit card 
and unused tags may result in exclusion from a fishing year and eventual revocation of the 
permit. Failure to submit a monthly report may result in license revocation for one year.  
 
Potomac River Fisheries Commission 
 
Commercial striped bass fisheries in the Potomac River operate under an individual fish tagging 
system.  Each commercially caught striped bass must be individually identified with a striped 
bass identification tag provided by the Potomac River Fisheries Commission at no cost to the 
fishermen.  Identification tags must be applied as soon as feasible and in no event shall any 
commercially caught striped bass be removed from the Potomac River or from the boat at the 
point of landing, whichever occurs first, without the identification tag being firmly affixed 
through the mouth and gill opening.  The tags shall be issued to a licensee and they cannot be 
transferred or sold, nor otherwise used by anyone except that licensee.  However, a licensee may 
release his license back to the Commission, and it can be either issued to another person or made 
available in a public random drawing.  All unused tags must be returned to the Commission after 
each respective fishing season. 
 
The commercial gear types used in the Potomac to harvest striped bass include gill net, pound 
net, commercial hook & line, haul seine, fyke net, fish trot line and fish pot.  There are 
approximately 400 commercial striped bass fishermen in the Potomac River. A fixed number of 
tags - based on the estimated size of fish available, the number of eligible fishermen, and the 
target cap for each gear type’s fishery – are issued to each fisherman prior to the opening of a 
gear specific season.  Limited entry fisheries include gill net, pound net and commercial hook & 
line.  Striped bass tags for pound nets and fyke nets are not issued until the net has been verified 
as properly set by law enforcement.  Haul seines also have to be measured and sealed prior to 
receiving tags.  The striped bass tags are color-coded according to the gear type.  The different 
gear types have various seasons. 
 
The Potomac River Fisheries Commission has a mandatory daily harvest reporting program.  
Each fisherman is required to file detailed daily harvest reports for each gear type used.  These 
daily harvest reports shall be delivered to, or mailed in time to arrive at, the Commission Office 
no later than Thursday of the following week.  Any fisherman who cannot account for allocated 
tags within a fishing year will have a one-for-one deduction of tags allocated the next fishing 
year. 
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Figure 8. 2012 commercial tag from Potomac River Fisheries Commission. Tags are 13.5 inches 
in length. Tag shown (in black) is for the haul seine gear. Refer to Table 5 information on tag 
color scheme for other gears.  
 

Tag Color Tag Text Gear 
White Black Gill Net 
Red Black Pound Net 
Blue Black Hook/Line 
Gray White Fyke Net 
Black White Haul Seine 

Orange White 
Fish Trot 
Line 

Green White Fish Pot 
Table 6. 2012 commercial tag description by gear type for the Potomac River Fisheries 
Commission 
 
It is unlawful to counterfeit, alter or modify any Potomac River Fisheries Commission striped 
bass identification tag, or to possess, use or attempt to use any counterfeit, altered or modified 
tags.  All such tags found by any agent of the Commission are to be seized, together with any 
fish and all other tags in possession.  The Commission may, after a hearing, revoke or suspend 
licenses and/or recall all striped bass identification tags issued to any person found guilty, and 
refuse to issue any tags in the future to him or his assignee. 
 
Virginia 
 
In Virginia, all commercial fishermen must have a fishing license, appropriate gear license, and a 
special permit to fish for striped bass.  Permits for the commercial harvest of striped bass in the 
Chesapeake area or coastal area shall be issued to any registered commercial fishermen holding 
striped bass quota shares. The total allowable level of all commercial harvest of striped bass from 
the Chesapeake Bay is 1,430,361 pounds of whole fish and from the coastal areas is 184,853 
pounds of whole fish.  A weight quota, in pounds, is assigned to each individual fisherman 
according to his/her share percentage of the total quota. Shares of the commercial striped bass 
quota held by any permitted fisherman may be transferred to any other person who is a licensed 
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registered commercial fisherman. Certain limitations apply. For the purposes of assigning 
commercial striped bass tags, the fisherman’s weight quota, in pounds, is converted to an 
estimate in numbers of fish based on the average weight of striped bass harvested by the 
fisherman during the previous fishing year.  The number of striped bass tags issued is equal the 
estimated number of fish to be landed by that fisherman, plus a buffer of 10% of the total number 
of tags issued to that fisherman.  Tags are distributed, free of charge, by the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission (VMRC) prior to the start of the fishing season on a designated date in 
January. In 2012 there were 445 fishermen that held Chesapeake Bay shares and 32 fishermen 
that held coastal shares. Most fishermen with a coastal share also hold a Chesapeake Bay share. 
At the beginning of the 2012 season, there were 410 fishermen who held Chesapeake Bay shares 
and 31 fishermen who held coastal shares. Sixteen fishermen who held a coastal share also held a 
Chesapeake Bay share.  
 
Tags issued for Chesapeake area harvest quota shall only be used for striped bass harvests in the 
Chesapeake area, and tags issued for the coastal area harvest quota shall only be used for striped 
bass harvests in the coastal area. If a fisherman holds a permit for both the Chesapeake Bay and 
coastal fisheries, that fishermen may receive only one type of area-specific tag allotment (i.e. 
either Chesapeake Bay or coastal tags), of their choosing, prior to the start of the fishing season. 
The remaining area tags are distributed either when it has been determined, through the harvest 
reporting program, that the fisherman has used all of the first allotment of tags and has not 
exceeded his individual harvest quota or if the fisherman surrenders any remaining tags of his 
first allotment of tags.  
 
All legal, commercially caught striped bass must be tagged at the place of capture, and before 
leaving that place of capture. Tags must be passed through the mouth of the striped bass and one 
gill opening, and interlocking ends of the tag must be connected such that the tag may only be 
removed by breaking. Striped bass tags are valid only for use by the fisherman to whom the tags 
were allotted. The fisherman must be on board the boat or vessel when striped bass are harvested 
and tags are applied.  It is unlawful to possess striped bass in a quantity greater than the number 
of tags in possession.  Any person who possesses any amount of striped bass in excess of the 
maximum number allowed for a licensed recreational fisherman shall be considered as 
possessing all striped bass for the purpose of sale.  When any person possesses striped bass in 
excess of the maximum number allowed a licensed recreational fisherman, all striped bass must 
be tagged, and the possession of any untagged striped bass shall be prima facie evidence of a 
violation. Processed or filleted striped bass must be accompanied by the tags removed from the 
fish when processed. 
 
Unlawful striped bass tags shall be confiscated and impounded by the commission and returned 
to the issuing agency for the following reasons:  

1.  Chesapeake area tags in the coastal area.  
2.  Tags issued for previous years for either the Chesapeake area or coastal area.  
3.  Potomac River Fisheries Commission striped bass tags in Virginia waters, excluding 

the Virginia tributaries of the Potomac River.  
4.  Maryland striped bass tags in Virginia waters.  
5.  Tags from any other jurisdiction in Virginia waters. 
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Figure 9. 2012 commercial striped bass tags from the Virginia Marine Resources Commission 
(top). Blue tag (top tag in bottom left photo) is valid for harvest in Virginia’s portion of the 
Chesapeake Bay. Black tag (bottom tag in bottom left photo) is valid for harvest in the Atlantic 
Ocean off of the Virginia coast. An example of a legal sized commercially tagged striped bass in 
Virginia in 2011 (bottom right photo).  
 
Any fisherman that has used all their allocated tags but has unused striped bass commercial 
quota can request additional tags from VMRC, after providing accounting for all previously 
issued tags.  All fishermen are required to return all unused tags from the previous commercial 
season to VMRC within 30 days of harvesting their individual harvest quota, or by the second 
Thursday in January, whichever comes first.  Any unused tags that cannot be turned in to the 
commission shall be accounted for by the harvester submitting an affidavit to the commission 
that explains the disposition of the unused tags that are not able to be turned into the commission.  
Each individual shall be required to pay a processing fee of $25, plus $0.13 per tag, for any 
unused tags that are not turned in to the commission. This report must be submitted prior to 
receiving the next season’s commercial tag allotment.  
 
All commercial fishermen must record and report daily striped bass harvest by specifying the 
number of tags used on striped bass harvested for each day by area and the daily total whole 
weight. Catch report must be submitted no later than the fifth day of the following month. 
 
Any buyer permitted to purchase striped bass harvested from Virginia tidal waters shall provide 
written reports to the commission of daily purchases and harvest information including the date 
of the purchase, buyer's and harvester's striped bass permit numbers, and harvester's Commercial 
Fisherman Registration License number, the gear type, water area fished, city or county of 
landing, weight of whole fish, and number and type of tags (Chesapeake area or coastal area) that 
applies to that harvest.  These reports are submitted monthly to VMRC no later than the fifth day 
of the following month. In addition, during the month of December, each permitted buyer shall 
call the Marine Resources Commission interactive voice recording system on a daily basis to 
report his name and permit number, date, pounds of Chesapeake area striped bass purchased and 
pounds of coastal area striped bass purchased. 
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North Carolina 
 
In North Carolina, all commercial fishermen and dealers must be licensed to harvest or purchase 
striped bass. Commercial fishermen are required to first obtain a Standard/Retired Commercial 
Fishing License and then, for harvest in the Atlantic Ocean, apply for an Atlantic Ocean Striped 
Bass Commercial Gear Permit. There is no charge for the permit and there is no limit of the total 
number of permits available. Each fisherman must declare which gear (gill net; trawl; or beach 
seine) will be used to commercially harvest striped bass under the Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass 
Commercial Gear Permit. The permit is valid for three years and the fisherman may only use the 
approved gear to commercially harvest striped bass within that time period. (i.e. gear 
declarations are binding).  A fisherman is not eligible for more than one Atlantic Ocean Striped 
Bass Commercial Gear Permit regardless of the number of Standard/Retired Commercial Fishing 
Licenses held by the person. There are no specific gear permits to harvest striped bass in the 
Albemarle Sound or Central Southern Management Areas; striped bass may be sold if harvested 
from any legal commercial gear, although the majority of landings occur from gill nets followed 
by a small amount of landings from pound nets. 
 
In order to purchase striped bass, licensed dealers must obtain a Striped Bass Dealer Permit 
validated for the applicable harvest area: Atlantic Ocean, Albemarle Sound Management Area 
(ASMA) and/or the joint and coastal fishing waters of the Central/Southern Management Area 
(CSMA). The Dealer Permit is valid for one year. It is unlawful to import, buy, sell, transport, 
offer to buy or sell, or possess ASMA, CSMA, or Atlantic Ocean commercially caught striped 
bass except during any open striped bass season established for the ASMA, CSMA, or Atlantic 
Ocean.  It is illegal to possess striped bass from another state without possession of a bill of 
lading and a numbered, state-issued tag from the State of origin affixed through the mouth and 
gill cover. This tag must remain affixed until processed for consumption by the consumer. The 
NC Division of Marine Fisheries shall specify the quantity of tags to be issued based on 
historical striped bass landings. Tags are free of charge to dealers and can be obtained by 
contacting the Division of Marine Fisheries. Each tag is inscribed with a unique number and the 
area of allowable harvest. Each permitted dealer must submit a daily harvest report which 
specifies the total number of tags used and the total weight.  It is unlawful for the dealer to fail to 
surrender unused tags to the Division upon request. North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries 
striped bass tags shall not be bought, sold, offered for sale, or transferred.  
 
The majority of harvest in the ASMA occurs in the spring, but in general the same dealers and 
fishermen participate in both the spring and fall fisheries. In 2011, approximately 29,467 tags 
were used for 134,098 pounds harvested (total quota = ~60,000 fish). There were 27 active 
striped bass dealers that purchased striped bass. The eight most active dealers accounted for 90% 
of tags used. Recently the number of commercial fishermen in the ASMA selling fish to dealers 
ranges from ~250 to 350 participants. 
 
In 2011, ~13,509 tags used for 424,600 pounds of ocean harvested fish (total quota = ~24,000 
fish).  No dealer used more than 3,900 tags.  Approximately 21 dealers purchased at least one 
striped bass, but 88% were bought by the top 8 dealers. The number of permitted fishermen has 
been as high as 800 when striped bass are abundant, but in recent years there have been 
approximately 200-500 participants. 
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Table 7. 2012 commercial tag descriptions by water body and gear for North Carolina.  

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
Figure 10. 2012 Commercial striped bass tags for North Carolina. Tags are seven inches in 
length. Blue tags (top) are valid for harvest in the Albemarle Sound Management Area. White 
tags (bottom) are valid for harvest in the Atlantic Coast off of North Carolina.  
 
 
 

 

Tag Color Water body 
White Atlantic Ocean 
Blue Albemarle Sound 

Green Central/Southern 
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Table 8. 2012 Commercial Tagging Regulations by State/Jurisdiction.  
*DE also requires tagging of commercially caught striped bass at official weigh stations.  
**Will be in place for the 2013 fishing year.  
 

State Massachusetts 
Rhode 
Island 

New York Delaware Maryland PRFC Virginia 
North 

Carolina 
2011 Weight 
Quota (Lbs.) 

1,159,750 232,974 828,293 203,120 1,963,873 739,097 1,615,214 480,480 

Number of 
Tags Issued 

None ~25000 ~90,000 
~31,000 harvest, 
~33,000 dealer  

~1,421,000 ~107,000 284,000 40,000  

# of 
Participants 

~4,000 Unknown ~490  111 1,231 ~400  ~450 700-800 

Limited Entry No Yes Yes Yes  Yes Yes Yes No 

License 
Application 

Deadline 
No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Point 
of Tag 

N/A Sale Harvest Harvest* Harvest Harvest Harvest Sale 

Unused Tags 
Turned In 

N/A No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Annual Tag 
Color 

N/A Yes No Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

# of Tag Colors N/A 2 1 2 5 7 2 3 

Tag Color By N/A Gear N/A Fishermen/Dealer Gear/Area Gear Area Area 

Year on Tag N/A Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes** 

Size Limit on 
Tag 

N/A No No No No No Yes No 
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3.0 Management Options  

3.1 Commercial Tagging Program Implementation 

Option 1 – No Action 

Under this option states are not required to implement a commercial tagging program. 

Option 2 – Mandatory Commercial Tagging Program  

Under this option states would be required to implement a tagging program when striped 
bass are commercially harvested within the state or jurisdictions waters. There are five 
categories the Board will consider in implementing a tagging program (A – G). The Board 
may choose to adopt some or all of provisions in each category. 

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC recommends option two.  Implementing a mandatory commercial tagging program 
among all the states will reduce the likelihood of illegally harvested and untagged fish finding 
their way into the market.  The findings of the interjurisdictional task force and subsequent 
arrests and convictions point out the significant potential for illegal harvest and sale of fish 
wherever there is inadequate tagging and monitoring in place. 
 
A. Tag Information and Type 

Option 1 – State Program 

Under this option, states and jurisdictions would be required to submit a Commercial 
Tagging Report to ASMFC no later than the date specified in Section 4. The Commercial 
Tagging Report will include a description of the tag color, style, and inscription for all 
gears and/or seasons issued. Tags must be tamper-evident. Tags are required to be valid for 
only one year or season. Tags are required to be inscribed with, at a minimum, the year of 
issue, the state of issue, and a unique number that can be linked back to the permit holder. 
Where possible, tags should also be inscribed with size limit and the permit holder’s 
identification number. State should consider the use of bar codes imprinted on tags, for use 
in tracking fish from harvester to dealer to buyer, as the technology becomes more 
available. Changes to the tags, with the exception of year, are required to be reported to 
ASMFC as specified in Section 4.0.  

Option 2 – Uniform Tagging Program 

Under this option, the Board will develop a uniform tagging program to be implemented 
coastwide no later than the date specified in Section 4.0.  

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC recommends option two with some qualifications.  Members of some states recognized 
the desirability of continuing to use more than one color tag to identify fish caught in certain gear 
or areas.  Nonetheless a uniform tagging program should be developed by the Board that 
incorporates the requirements spelled out in option one, while allowing some flexibility to states 
in their use of more than one tag color per year.  The overall goal however should be to use a 
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standard color or colors each year among all of the states. The Board should also consider ways 
to address counterfeit tag operations, such as developing agreement with tag manufacturers to 
ensure tags are only sold to Commission member states and jurisdictions.  

B. Tag Timing 

Option 1 – No Action  

Under this option the state or jurisdiction may choose to implement their commercial 
tagging program at either the point of harvest or the point of sale.  

Option 2 – Point of Harvest (Fishermen Tagging) 

Under this option, commercially permitted striped bass fishermen who take and possess 
striped bass of legal commercial size shall attach and securely lock into place through the 
mouth and gill a striped bass commercial tag issued by the permitting state or jurisdiction 
either after removing the striped bass from the gear, prior to attending another piece of 
gear, moving beyond a specified distance from the gear, or before removing a striped 
bass from a boat. Exceptions are permitted for safety concerns, such as under hazardous 
or adverse weather conditions. Currently point of harvest tagging occurs in New York, 
Delaware, Maryland, PRFC, and Virginia.  

If the Board approves this option, they will need to determine if the measures should be 
adopted coastwide or state/jurisdiction specific.  

Sub-Option A – Approve for coastwide 

Sub-Option B – Approve for new commercial tagging programs implemented 
through this Addendum. 

Option 3 – Point of Sale (Dealer Tagging)  

Under this option, no striped bass may be sold unless it possesses a commercial tag 
issued by the state or jurisdiction.  Tagging occurs by the dealer at the time of first sale. 
All tags must be securely locked into place through the mouth and gill with a striped bass 
commercial tag issued by the permitting state or jurisdiction. Currently point of sale 
tagging occurs in Rhode Island and North Carolina. 

If the Board approves this option, they will need to determine if the measures should be 
adopted coastwide or state/jurisdiction specific. 

Sub-Option A – Approve for coastwide 

Sub-Option B – Approve for new commercial tagging programs implemented 
through this Addendum. 

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC recommends option two, sub-option B.  The most effective enforcement of a tagging 
program results from tagging fish at the point of harvest.  This optimizes on-water as well as 
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dockside monitoring and enforcement.  Sub-option B would allow two states that currently 
require tagging at the point of sale to continue doing so. 
 
C. Tag Allowance 

Option 1 – No Action 

Under this option no action is required by states or jurisdictions. Amendment 6 to the 
Striped Bass FMP does not specify commercial tag allowance measures.  

Option 2 – Biological Tag Allowance 

Under this option states or jurisdictions will be required to distribute commercial tags to 
permit holders based on a biological metric. This option is intended to help prevent state 
or jurisdictional commercial quota overages, which will contribute to the health and 
sustainability of the striped bass population. Program examples include: 

 In New York, the number of tags issued is equal to the average weight of striped 
bass harvested in the fishery in the previous year divided by the total striped bass 
quota assigned to New York by the ASMFC.  

 In Virginia, the number of striped bass tags issued to each permitted fishermen 
equals the estimated number of fish to be landed by that fishermen’s harvest quota 
based on their average catch from the previous year. A buffer of 10% of the total 
number of tags issued to the fishermen is included. Fishermen may request 
additional tags from the VMRC if they use their initial allotment. 

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC recommends option two.  This would provide a closer match between the number of 
available tags and the number of fish that might be harvested within a weight-based quota.  A 
key finding of the interjurisdictional investigation was that fish weights were being 
underreported in order to obtain additional tags that were readily available.  This was a primary 
mechanism for exceeding allowable weight quotas.  Where violations were occurring, average 
fish weights being reported were significantly less than biologically-determined average weights 
of striped bass in that particular fishery. The LEC recognizes that this method of distributing tags 
in an open fishery where a state issues tags to licensed dealers may not be feasible.  However a 
state quota combined with biologically based average weights could still be used to inform the 
total number of tags to be made available each year.  The goal should be to reduce the 
availability of excess tags that could be used to mask illegal harvest. 
 

D. Tag Accounting 

Option 1 – No Action 

Option 2 – Tag Accountability  

Under this option, states and jurisdictions with a commercial tagging program must 
require permit holders issued tags to turn tags in or provide an accounting report for any 
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unused tags prior to the start of the next fishing season. Tags or the accounting report 
shall be turned in to the agency issuing the tags. The accounting report must include the 
disposition of all tags issued to the permitee and signed under pain of perjury. Five of the 
eight states (New York, Delaware, Maryland, PRFC, and Virginia) with a commercial 
fishery currently require return of unused tags prior to the start of the next fishing year, 
while one state (North Carolina) requires enforcement officers to pick up unused tags 
from dealers at the end of the fishing season. Permit holders who do not comply with this 
section will be subject to penalties as set forth in Section 3.2. 

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC recommends option two.  Most states are already adopting this provision, which 
significantly enhances accountability for tags being used and reduces the likelihood of illegal 
activities that were documented in the interjurisdictional investigation. 
 

E. Reporting 

Option 1 – No Action 
 
Under this option no action is required by states or jurisdictions. Amendment 6 to the 
Striped Bass FMP does not specify commercial monitoring measures. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 
Table 9. Current Reporting Requirements by State/Jurisdictions 
 

Option 2 – ACCSP Standards  
 
Under the option, states and jurisdictions shall, at a minimum, approve the ACCSP 
standards for catch and effort data collection. The ACCSP standard for commercial catch 
and effort data is mandatory, trip-level reporting of all species commercially harvested 
with reporting of specific minimum data elements; including species, quantity, state and 
port of landing, market grade and category, areas fished and hours fished. Dealers and/or 
harvesters landing catches must report to the state of landing monthly or more frequently, 

STATE 
COMMERICAL 
REPORTING - 

FISHERS 

COMMERICAL 
REPORTING - 

DEALERS 

Massachusetts Monthly weekly 

Rhode Island 
Floating Trap - 

3x/week;  
Gen. Cat. - none 

bi-weekly 

New York Monthly Weekly 

Delaware 
30 days after end 

date of fishery 
daily 

Maryland Monthly Weekly 

PRFC weekly X 

Virginia monthly monthly 

North Carolina None daily 
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if possible. Each gear and area combination should be detailed; such as separate listings 
each time the fisherman changes gear or fishing area within a trip. Price data are 
preferred at the trip-level, but partners may opt to collect prices through dealer surveys.  
 

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC supports option two.  They further recommend that reporting should be more 
frequently than monthly wherever possible.  More frequent reporting allows better and timelier 
enforcement monitoring. 
 

F. Striped Bass Processing  

Option 1 – No Action  

Option 2 – Under a mandatory commercial tagging program, tags must remain affixed 
until processed for consumption by the consumer. Retail markets may prepare portions of 
legally tagged striped bass for the consumer and must retain the tagged carcass until all 
portions are sold. The tag must then be removed from the rack and destroyed (e.g. by 
cutting the tag in two). Possession of untagged striped bass or striped bass fillets or steaks 
without the properly tagged carcass in establishments where fish are sold or offered for 
sale (including wholesale establishments, retail establishments and restaurants) is 
presumptive evidence of intent to sell, trade, or barter such striped bass. Currently, New 
York, Maryland, and Virginia have similar restrictions in place.  

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC strongly supports Option 2, but notes the Board will need to consider when fillets are 
removed from larger fish and do not go to the same market, in which case one tag may be 
insufficient for compliance. 
 

G. Striped Bass Exportation  

Option 1 – No Action  

Option 2 – Under a mandatory commercial tagging program it would be unlawful to sell 
or purchase striped bass without a commercial tag. This is to prevent the sale or purchase 
of striped bass into a state or jurisdiction where there is currently no commercial fishery 
program. 

LEC Recommendation 
The LEC strongly supports Option 2. 
 

3.2 Penalties  

Under this option it is recommended that states and jurisdictions strengthen their penalties for 
striped bass violations, including counterfeit tag operations, so that the penalties are sufficient to 
deter illegal harvest of striped bass.   
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The LEC recommends license revocation or suspension as a primary penalty for state or federal 
violations. The LEC notes the state of Maryland has implemented revocations and suspensions as 
a result of the IWTF investigation and law enforcement officials believe it is improving 
compliance.  Civil and/or criminal penalties can be effective deterrents. 

Tag Accountability Penalty  

The LEC recommends that if the permit holder cannot account for unused commercial striped 
bass tags, then that individual will not be issued a commercial striped bass permit for the 
subsequent fishing year.  

 
 
4.0  Compliance 

If the existing striped bass management program is revised by approval of this draft addendum, 
the Striped Bass Management Board will designate dates by which states will be required to 
implement the addendum. The compliance schedule will take the following format: 

XXXXX: States must submit programs to implement Addendum III for approval by the 
Striped Bass Management Board 

XXXXX:  All states must implement Addendum III through their approved management 
programs. States may begin implementing management programs prior to this 
deadline if approved by the Management Board.  
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Appendix 1. Summary of Atlantic Striped Bass Commercial Regulations in 2012 

STATE SIZE LIMITS SEASONAL QUOTA OPEN SEASON 
ME Commercial fishing prohibited 
NH Commercial fishing prohibited 
MA 34” min.  1,159,750 lb. (minus any overage from 

previous year) 
Hook & line only 

7.12 until quota reached; 5 fish/day on Sun; 30 
fish/day Tues-Thurs 

RI Floating fish trap: 26” 
min. 
 
General category (mostly 
rod & reel): 34” min.  

Total: 239,963 lb. (minus any overage 
from previous year) 
Split 39:61 between trap and general 
category. 
Gill netting prohibited. 

Trap: 1.1 until quota reached; if there is non-
compliance with reporting requirements, once 80% of 
the seasonal allocation is projected to be harvested, 
there will be a possession limit of 500 pounds/fish trap 
licensee/calendar day. 
General Category: 6.1-8.31 or 75% quota; 9.13-12.31 
or 100% quota; 5 fish/day Sun-Thu. 

CT Commercial fishing prohibited 
NY 24–36” 

Ocean only 
(Hudson River closed to 
commercial harvest) 

828,293 lb. (minus any overage from 
previous year). Pound nets, gill nets (6-
8”stretched mesh), hook & line. 

7.1 – 12.15 
Gill nets <6 or >8”, 7 fish/trip; trawls 21 fish/trip. 
Gill nets prohibited in Great South, South Oyster, and 
Hempstead Bays. 

NJ Commercial fishing prohibited 
PA Commercial fishing prohibited 
DE 28” minimum except 20” 

spring gillnet in DE 
Bay/River & Nanticoke 
River (5.5” max mesh & 
0.28mm max twine) 

193,447 lb. (minus any overage from 
previous year) 
 
 

Gillnet: 2.15-5.31 (3.1-31 for Nanticoke) & 11.15-
12.31; drift nets only 2.15-28 & 5.1-31; no fixed nets 
in DE River 
Hook and Line: 4.1–12.31 
Except 4.1-5.31 closed spawning areas 

MD Bay and Rivers:    18–
36” 
 
 
Ocean: 24” 

Bay and River: 2,254,831 lbs (part of 
Baywide quota) 
Gear specific quotas and landing limits 
 
Ocean: 126,396 lb. (minus any overage 
from previous year) 

Bay Pound Net: 6.1-11.30, Mon-Sat 
Bay Haul Seine: 6.7-11.30, Mon-Fri 
Bay Hook & Line: 6.7-11.30, Mon-Thu 
Bay Drift Gill Net: 1.1-2.28, 12.1-12.31, Mon-Fri 
Ocean Drift Gill Net & Trawl: 1.1-4.30, 11.1-12.31, 
Mon-Fri  
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STATE SIZE LIMITS SEASONAL QUOTA OPEN SEASON 
PRFC 18” min all year 

36” max 2.15–3.25 
739,097 lbs (part of Baywide quota) 
 

Hook & line: 2.15-3.25, 6.1-12.31 
Pound Net & Other: 2.15-3.25, 6.1-12.15 
Gill Net: 11.14.11 – 3.25.12 

DC Commercial fishing prohibited 
VA Bay and Rivers: 18” min, 

28” max & 
complimentary gill net 
mesh size limit 3.26–6.15 
Ocean: 28” minimum 

Bay and Rivers: 1,538,022 lbs in 2010 
(part of Baywide quota) 
 
Ocean: 184,853 lb. (minus any overage 
from previous year) 

Bay and Rivers: 2.1-12.31 
 
 
Ocean: 2.1-12.31 

NC Albemarle Sound: 18” 
 
Ocean: 28” 

Albemarle Sound: 275,000 lb 
Ocean: 480,480 lb. (minus any overage 
from previous year) split 160,160 lbs each 
to beach seine, gill net & trawl 

Albemarle Sound: 1.1-4.30, 10.1-12.31; daily trip 
limit ranging from 5 to 15 fish; striped bass cannot 
exceed 50% by weight of total finfish harvest; season 
and daily trip limits set by proclamation. 
Ocean: gear requirements; open days and trip limits 
for beach seine, gill net, and trawl set via proclamation

 

 

 


